• Graduate program
    • Why Tinbergen Institute?
    • Program Structure
    • Courses
    • Course Registration
    • Facilities
    • Admissions
    • Recent PhD Placements
  • Research
  • News
  • Events
    • Summer School
      • Behavioral Macro and Complexity
      • Econometrics and Data Science Methods for Business and Economics and Finance
      • Inequalities in Health and Healthcare
      • Introduction in Genome-Wide Data Analysis
      • Research on Productivity, Trade, and Growth
      • Summer School Business Data Science Program
    • Events Calendar
    • Tinbergen Institute Lectures
    • Annual Tinbergen Institute Conference
    • Events Archive
  • Summer School
  • Alumni
  • Times
Home | News | Herman van Dijk awarded the 2022 Zellner Medal
News | July 08, 2022

Herman van Dijk awarded the 2022 Zellner Medal

Emeritus Fellow Herman van Dijk of Erasmus School of Economics has been awarded the 2022 Zellner Medal from the International Society of Bayesian Analysis (ISBA). The medal recognises ISBA members who have "rendered exceptional service to ISBA over an extended period of time, with a long-lasting impact."

Herman van Dijk awarded the 2022 Zellner Medal

According to Sudipto Banerjee, President of the ISBA, Herman Van Dijk is honoured for being an early supporter of ISBA, one of the most influential Bayesians amongst econometricians, and for being an outstanding Bayesian scholar who has advanced the Zellner tradition in economic statistics through fundamental contributions to simulation-based Bayesian econometric techniques for inference, forecasting, and decision analysis.

Van Dijk is currently the only Dutch scientist who received the Savage Prize - for his doctoral dissertation - and the Zellner Medal as oeuvre award. Van Dijk is very pleased: ‘I feel honoured to be the winner of the 2022 Zellner Medal. What makes it all very special is that I have known and worked with Arnold Zellner.’

About Arnold Zellner

The Zellner Medal is named for Arnold Zellner, an American economist and statistician who performed pioneering research in Bayesian analysis and econometric modeling. In 2006, to celebrate the fiftieth anniversary of the Econometric Institute, Erasmus University Rotterdam conferred an honorary doctorate on Arnold Zellner and 2003 Nobel Prize winner Sir Clive Granger, in recognition of their fundamental contributions to the development of dynamic econometric models.

About the ISBA

The ISBA was founded in 1992 to promote the development and application of Bayesian analysis useful in the solution of theoretical and applied problems in science, industry and government. It is the largest interdisciplinary society for sciences to promote Bayesian Analysis.